What are Personal Injury Protection and Medpay? Personal Injury Protection (PIP) PIP coverage is required by statute to be part of any auto policy written in Texas, unless it is rejected in writing. PIP covers everyone in the insured auto up to PIP coverage limits. PIP will cover every insured regardless of the vehicle they are in. PIP will cover losses incurred within three years of the date of an accident. PIP is available regardless of fault or other available benefits. If PIP benefits are not timely paid (within 30 days) attorney’s fees and interest are recoverable. PIP coverage will pay medical bills, reimburse you for out of pocket coverage and reimburse you for lost wages. You do not have to pay your insurer back for the money you received from PIP. The PIP carrier must pay “reasonable expenses that are for necessary medical services”. This means that the carrier can pay less than what the medical provider billed. PIP covers 80% of lost income. PIP coverage limits are often $2,500, but may be $5,000, $10,000 or even higher. PIP coverage is generally affordable and can help offset out of pocket costs. https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/IN/htm/IN.1952.htm Medpay Medpay covers only medical expenses, and you may have to pay it back. Medpay has no statutory basis and no legal restrictions on its terms. The lawyers at Wham & Rogers can help with your PIP claim. Call us at 832-592-1108, or fill out a form on our contact page: https://www.whamandrogers.com/contact/ The information […]
What are Personal Injury Protection and Medpay?
What is Personal Injury Protection?
What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP)? PIP coverage is required by statute to be part of any auto policy written in Texas, unless it is rejected in writing. PIP covers everyone in the insured auto up to PIP coverage limits. PIP will cover every insured regardless of the vehicle they are in. PIP will cover losses incurred within three years of the date of an accident. PIP is available regardless of fault or other available benefits. If PIP benefits are not timely paid (within 30 days) attorney’s fees and interest are recoverable. PIP coverage will pay medical bills, reimburse you for out of pocket coverage and reimburse you for lost wages. You do not have to pay your insurer back for the money you received from PIP. The PIP carrier must pay “reasonable expenses that are for necessary medical services”. This means that the carrier can pay less than what the medical provider billed. PIP covers 80% of lost income. PIP coverage limits are often $2,500, but may be $5,000, $10,000 or even higher. PIP coverage is generally affordable and can help offset out of pocket costs. https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/IN/htm/IN.1952.htm Medpay Medpay covers only medical expenses, and you may have to pay it back. Medpay has no statutory basis and no legal restrictions on its terms. The lawyers at Wham & Rogers can help with your PIP claim. Call us at 832-592-1108, or fill out a form on our contact page: https://www.whamandrogers.com/contact/ The information in this blog is not, nor […]
Why You Need Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists Coverage
What is Uninsured Motorists Coverage? Uninsured motorists “UM” coverage protects you if you are injured by a driver with no insurance. You may assume that other drivers will follow the law and will buy auto insurance just like you do. However, this is not always the case. An estimated 1 in 8 drivers on Texas roads are uninsured. https://www.iii.org/fact-statistic/facts-statistics-uninsured-motorists Some drivers never buy auto insurance and take their chances on being ticketed. Some drivers have coverage but miss their monthly payment so the coverage lapses. In other cases, the owner of the car may have coverage, but may allow an excluded driver (usually a family member with a bad driving record) to drive the car, so there is no coverage. What you may not realize is that even if a driver does have auto insurance, if the driver does not “cooperate” with his insurance company, the insurance company can deny coverage. If you are injured by a driver with no insurance coverage and you do not have UM coverage, you may have no way to collect from the at- fault driver. Typically, drivers with assets to protect have auto insurance. It’s usually those drivers with nothing to lose who do not carry auto insurance. To protect yourself and your family from uninsured drivers, it’s important to carry uninsured motorists coverage, with limits high enough to protect you should the worst happen.https://www.insurancejournal.com/news/national/2018/03/15/483414.htm What is Underinsured Motorists Coverage? Underinsured Motorists Coverage “UIM” coverage protects you in the event the at-fault driver does […]
Why do I need to call a lawyer immediately after an accident?
What should you do if you have an accident? Call a lawyer immediately. 1. A lawyer can help make sure important evidence is preserved. In many cases, there may be video recordings of the accident or other evidence that can be preserved, if the request is properly and timely made. 2. A lawyer will be on your side, when virtually no one is. The insurance adjuster is not paid to help you. The adjuster is paid to save the insurance company money. We have received countless calls from people who were tricked or lied to by adjusters. 3. A lawyer can put pressure on the insurance company to handle matters in a swift and expeditious manner. Insurance adjusters know they can’t pull the wool over an attorney’s eyes they way they can with those unfamiliar with the system. 4. A lawyer can help you get the proper medical care promptly. Many doctors will not treat patients who have been injured in an accident. This is because health insurance companies don’t always pay doctors promptly for treating accident victims. 5. If you do not have health insurance a lawyer can help you find doctors who will treat you while your case is pending. 6. A lawyer can help get the hospital to bill your health insurance. Often the hospital wants to avoid billing health insurance and instead files a hospital lien. The lien is filed by the hospital in an effort to make more money from treating you. 7. A lawyer […]
From school kids riding on bike paths, to the avid bicyclists on the roads, there are a lot of bike riders in The Woodlands and Spring. Unfortunately, all too often, bike riders are struck by cars. Even wearing a helmet and other protective gear, a bike rider may suffer severe injuries if struck by a car. According to the NTSA, bicyclists accounted for 2.2 percent of all traffic deaths in 2016. Bicyclist deaths occur most often between 6 and 9 p.m. and in urban areas. The vast majority of bicyclists killed are male. The NTSA provides these pointers to avoid bike accidents: • Ride a bike that fits you—if it’s too big, it’s harder to control the bike. • Ride a bike that works—it really doesn’t matter how well you ride if the brakes don’t work. • Wear equipment to protect you and make you more visible to others, like a bike helmet, bright clothing (during the day), reflective gear, and a white front light and red rear light and reflectors on your bike (at night, or when visibility is poor). • Ride one per seat, with both hands on the handlebars, unless signaling a turn. • Carry all items in a backpack or strapped to the back of the bike. • Tuck and tie your shoe laces and pant legs so they don’t get caught in your bike chain. • Plan your route—if driving as a vehicle on the road, choose routes with less traffic and slower speeds. Your […]
Steps to follow if you are in an auto collision
Download In Case of Accident Brochure At the scene: • Make sure you are safe. If you are on the freeway, move to the shoulder if you can. Turn on your emergency flashers. • Unless the collision is extremely minor, call 911. • Do not admit fault or apologize. Simply ask if the other drivers and passengers are ok. • Do not say that you are uninjured. Due to the adrenaline, sometimes people do not realize they are injured until after they leave the scene. • The police officer will provide you with an information sheet with the insurance information for the other parties. • Get the names and contact information from witnesses. • If it’s safe to do so, take photographs of the vehicles and collision scene. If it’s not safe, or if you are taken by ambulance, take photos of the scene afterward or ask a friend to take photos. • If you are injured, allow the paramedics to examine you and if they recommend you go to the hospital, follow their recommendations. After the collision: • Seek medical treatment if you need it. Delays in seeking medical treatment will be held against you by the insurance companies. • Report the collision to the other driver’s insurance company and to your insurance company. • If you are injured, do not give a recorded statement without speaking with a lawyer. • If you are injured retain a lawyer as soon as possible to ensure your rights are protected. • […]
Personal Injury Protection Coverage and How It Works
How do I get Personal Injury Protection coverage? In Texas you have the option to purchase Personal Injury Protection coverage (known as “PIP”) with your automobile insurance coverage. In fact, your auto insurer must offer you the PIP coverage. If you decline the coverage, you must sign a statement refusing the coverage. How much coverage is available under Personal Injury Protection coverage? Personal injury protection usually provides $2,500 to cover your out of pocket medical costs and lost wages due injuries you sustained in an automobile collision, whether you are at fault or another driver is at fault. Some companies offer personal injury protection coverage of $5,000 or even $10,000.00. How much does Personal Injury Protection coverage cost? Personal Injury Protection coverage is affordable. $2,500 in coverage usually costs no more than $50 per year. What is covered under Personal Injury Protection coverage? Medical bills and lost wages are covered under Personal Injury Protection coverage. How do I get reimbursed under Personal Injury Protection coverage? If you are injured in an automobile accident, you can call your agent or insurance company to open a PIP claim. You will be assigned a PIP adjuster to handle your claim. You will need to provide the adjuster with copies of your medical bills and, if applicable, proof of your lost wages. How long does it take for the insurance company to pay my Personal Injury Protection claim? Your PIP adjuster will be able to tell you when to expect your check for reimbursement, […]
What caused my house to flood?
What caused my house to flood? One obvious answer is Harvey. However, the process of developing a subdivision is a process that must safeguard against extreme weather events. The area around your home and subdivision must be taken into account in designing a residential development. And each neighborhood must be designed to drain properly under heavy rains. The developer’s duty of prudent development includes thorough study and analysis, and taking design and engineering steps to ensure proper drainage, to protect the area against high water events. There are many reasons a home floods other than “it just rained too much.” Wham & Rogers, PLLC is beginning the process of examining these reasons to determine if more should have been done in the development and construction in The Woodlands and Spring and surrounding areas. If you have any concerns about your home and subdivision, please call for a free consultation.
Why You Need Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Texas
Board Certified Personal Injury Lawyer Mark Wham talks about why underinsured motorist protection is so important in the State of Texas.. Wham and Rogers, PLLC – Texas Injury Attorneys (832) 592-1108. Underinsured motorist coverage is possibly the most important car insurance you can buy in Texas. Under Texas law, the minimum allowable liability auto insurance coverage is only $30,000. You can imagine that auto accident victims routinely incur more than $30,000 in losses, damages, and medical expenses. Therefore, if you are seriously injured in an auto accident., then underinsured motorist coverage will provide additional coverage to compensate you for your losses and injuries. Injury Lawyer (832) 592-1108 Call our office for a free consultation. We have offices in The Woodlands and Spring, Tx and help clients in Montgomery County, Harris County, and the Greater Houston area. From Our Blog When are punitive damages available in Texas? Questions to ask your personal injury lawyer. What to do after a car accident that is not your fault.
Personal Injury Protection Coverage in Texas
Personal Injury Protection: How does PIP coverage in Texas compare to MedPay Coverage? Which is better? In this video, The Woodlands and Spring, Tx Board Certified personal injury lawyer Mark Wham explains. Wham and Rogers, PLLC – (832) 592-1108. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and MedPay are two important types of auto insurance coverage. What Does PIP Cover? PIP covers the driver and all passengers in your car regardless of who is at fault in causing a collision. PIP generally covers reasonable and necessary medical bills. It also covers 80% of lost wages up to the limits of your specific PIP coverage. PIP payments are not subject to subrogation, which means that you can recover your PIP expenses (from the insurance company) and then recover those same expenses from the Defendant driver, without needing to reimburse your insurance carrier. What Does MedPay Cover? Medical Payments Coverage (MedPay) will cover your reasonable medical expenses up to your MedPay limits. However, MedPay does not provide any coverage for lost wages. Unlike PIP coverage, MedPay is subject to subrogation. In other words, if you receive MedPay insurance payments for your medical expenses, then you will have to reimburse your insurance company if those same medical expenses are awarded in your lawsuit settlement. This is why many attorneys will tell you that PIP coverage is actually more beneficial than MedPay coverage. Have You Been Injured? The Board Certified Personal Injury Lawyers at Wham & Rogers, PLLC are here to help. Call our office for a free consultation at (832) […]